MP3 $ 10.00

Chicago Underground Quartet

by Chicago Underground

This self titled release is the debut as a Quartet for the Chicago Underground collective. In addition to the already established Chicago Underground Duo of Rob Mazurek (cornet, electronics) and Chad Taylor (percussion), the quartet model features Jeff Parker (Tortoise, Isotope 217) on guitar and Noel Kupersmith (Brokeback) on upright bass. For those familiar with the Chicago Underground Duo?s recordings, Parker and Kupersmith add a lush, organic tone to the proceedings: abstract sonics meet gorgeous melody in this extraordinary sound collage. The Chicago Underground Quartet merges sound from disparate worlds that collide and caress in unexpected ways. From the opening arpeggio figure of "Tunnel Chrome" to the free improvisations of "Sink, Charge, Fixture" to the futuristic moog melody of "Nostalgia." Chicago Underground Quartet weaves sound that pleases. Recorded and Engineered by John McEntire at Soma Studios